2012 Darren Smith Cycle Classic

Gold Coast CATS Cycling Club
Published: Nov 17, 2012 03:16:52 PM Updated: May 21, 2013 01:51:26 PM

2012 Darren Smith Cycle Classic

The U19’s race was dominated by Tamworth rider, Kierin Lewis, with strong performances from CATS U17 riders, Josh Smith and Riley Maule, who finished 2nd and 3rd place respectively.

A downpour shortly after the start of the Sara Carrigan Shield for Elite Women, resulted in a significant section of the field withdrawing shortly after.  ACT rider, Kimerbley Wells decisively won the event finishing half a lap in front of Balmoral riders, Jasmin Hurikino in 2nd and Zoe Watters in 3rd place.

The skies cleared for the start of the Darren Smith Memorial Race. A three man breakaway between Luke Durbridge, Ryan MacAnally and Robbie McEwen, saw Ryan take out the sprint prize. His efforts proved too much to stay with the GreenEDGE pair, and an exciting duel unfolded with Durbridge taking out the honours in this year's race.

Full results are listed in the attachment below.

Darren Smith Cycle Classic 2012 Results