GC Cycling success at CQ Annual Awards

Gold Coast CATS Cycling Club
Published: Nov 25, 2013 06:43:38 PM Updated: Jan 24, 2014 11:17:10 AM

Gold Coast Cycling Club (The CATS) asserted its position as one of Queensland’s most successful cycling clubs at the Cycling Queensland Annual Awards Dinner held on Saturday 23rd November in Brisbane.  Major awards were received by Katrin Garfoot (Elite Female Road Cyclist of the Year), Stephen Storer  (Masters Male Track Cyclist of the Year), Helen Griffiths (Senior Masters Female Road Cyclist of the Year), Peter Spencer (Tandem (B) Para-cyclist of the Year) and Sean Grimes (Under 19 Male Track Cyclist of the Year).  Other club members were also nominated for major awards: Jayden Copp (Elite Male Road Cyclist of the Year), Jacob Restall (Under 23 Male Cyclist of the Year), Laurelea Moss (Masters Female Road Cyclist of the Year) and Madison Janssen (Elite Female Track Cyclist of the Year).  Katrin was also nominated as Cyclist of the Year.  Not surprisingly we were also nominated as Queensland Club of the Year after receiving this award last year. 

Awardees were well supported at the gala dinner by over 20 club supporters who attended to share in the success of these wonderful athletes.  Club member Robbie McEwen was guest speaker for the evening and related numerous interesting stories from his long and highly successful career.  

Stephen StorerHelen Griffiths

Katrin GarfootSean Grimes

On behalf of all our club members, we wish to extend our congratulations to all finalist and award recipients announced by Cycling Queensland