Darren Smith Cycle Classic 2014 Results

Gold Coast CATS Cycling Club
Published: Nov 16, 2014 09:05:15 PM

The 22nd running of the Darren Smith Cycle Classic may go into the CATS history books as being the hottest criterium race ever held at Nerang, with scorching temperatures hitting around 45 degrees celsius, and on behalf of Dennis and Jane Smith, the Gold Coast Cycling Club extends a BIG thank you to everyone who entered, raced, spectated, supported and volunteered today in honour of their son, Darren Smith.

21 riders lined up for the main event and the Darren Smith Perpetual Trophy, the Men's Elite A race.  Due to extreme heat, the race was reduced to 55 minutes plus 3 laps.  A $2,000 cash prizepool was up for grabs paying to 10th.  Only 9 riders were able to finish in the hellish conditions.

Results (in order of race program):

Masters C
1st Sam Wylie (Logan City CC)
2nd Stephen Samuels (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
3rd Paul Fletcher (Logan City CC)
4th Keith Jago (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
5th Mark Tarrant (Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)
Prime 1 Kevin York (Logan City CC)
Prime 2 Sam Wylie (Logan City CC)

Women C/U17 Women - Sponsored by Allenview Turf
1st Amiel Cassidy (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
2nd Simone Kendrick (Murwillumbah CC)
3rd Lynda Brown (Kangaroo Point CC)
Prime 1 Amiel Cassidy

Junior U9 Boys 
1st Luke Richert (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)

Junior U13 Girls
1st Francesca Sewell (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
2nd Alexandra Holloway (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)

Junior U13 Boys 
1st Zakk Patterson (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
2nd Dylan Hoy (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
3rd Timothy Richards / Jordan McIntosh

Junior U15 Boys 
1st Jack Sewell (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)

U17 Men
1st Sebastian Berwick (St George CC)
2nd Joshua Beikoff (Ipswich CC)
3rd Bradley Warnes (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)

Women A - Sponsored by Allenview Turf
1st Katrin Garfoot (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
2nd Laurelea Moss (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
3rd Jenelle Crooks (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
Prime 1 Laurelea Moss 
Prime 2 Laurelea Moss

Women B - Sponsored by Allenview Turf
1st Jaime Gunning (Balmoral CC)
2nd Brooke Sheppeard (Kangaroo Point CC)
3rd Belinda Gowen (Rockhampton CC)

Men Elite A - Sponsored by Konica Minolta Document Solutions
1st David Edwards (Tableland Cycle Sports)
2nd Aden de Jager (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
3rd Reuben Donati (Logan City CC)
4th Jayden Copp (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
5th Bryan Staring (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
6th Mark Laspina (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
7th Sam Volkers (Balmoral CC)
8th Tim Hoy (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
9th Andrew Gardiner (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
Prime 1 Jayden Copp (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
Prime 2 Aden de Jager (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
Most aggressive rider Reuben Donati (Logan City CC)

Masters B
1st Danny Clark (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
2nd Michael Gough (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
3rd Gavin Gray (Balmoral CC)
4th Paul Woodward (Ipswich CC)
5th Keith Stanhope (Hamilton Pine River Wheelers) 
Prime 1 Chris Garfoot (Gold Coast Cycling Club) 
Prime 2 Danny Clark (Gold Coast Cycling Club)

Men Elite C
1st Stephen Rashleigh (Kangaroo Point CC)
2nd Lachlan Huntley-Chipper (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
3rd Joe Kerrigan (Byron Bay CC)
4th Adam McCormick (Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)
5th Matthew Wynn (Kangaroo Point CC)

Masters A
1st Matthew Locker (Bikeline Racing)
2nd Les Heap (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
3rd Ian Blatchford (Cyc'd Cycling Club)
4th Brad Eastwood (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
5th Justin Randall (Gold Coast Goldstars CC)
Prime 1 Matthew Locker

Elite B
1st Luke Pingel (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
2nd Dean Madden (Logan City CC)
3rd Ryan Wilson (Hamilton Pine River Wheelers)
4th Simon Meyer (Moreton Bay CC)
5th Clint Kimmins (Gold Coast Cycling Club)
Prime 2 Matthew Zaranski (Cyc'd Cycling Club)